Library News - Research Guides at Saint Mary's College of California

veterans week crafternoon event graphic Come participate in a special Veterans Week-themed Crafternoon on the lawn outside the Library and make cards and posters for our SMC Veterans. Once we finish our crafting, the completed cards and banners will go up in the SMC Veterans Lounge.

Monday, November 6
2-4 pm
Library lawn

This is a collaboration with Kindra Stewart, Veterans Support Services. We'll supply all the paper and decorating supplies your hearts desire!

All SMC students, faculty, and staff are welcome. Free, wheelchair accessible, and open to all.

Questions? Contact Kindra Stewart (kcs14@stmarys-ca.edu) or Margot Hanson (mdh15@stmarys-ca.edu)

Recent Posts

Library Tip of the Week: Using ChatGPT to find research articles? Read this first.

Using ChatGPT to find research articles? Read this first. We librarians have noticed a trend lately: SMC researchers are coming to us with a citation and need help finding the full text. The citation has a plausible title, real authors, and a reputable journal. However, when we dig deeper, the article doesn’t exist as described. It turns out, in these cases, that the citation originated from ChatGPT. This makes sense, as ChatGPT has been trained to generate language, not look up citations. The latest model can search the web, but it isn’t a search engine. The picture above is an example we experienced of ChatGPT recommending a book, but then admitting the book doesn't actually exist (though the authors do!). However, there are apps that harness AI to help you find relevant publications and quickly get the key points so you can choose which ones to dig into further. Instead of ChatGPT, if you’re looking for research papers on a topic, try:ResearchRabbit: free; maps papers with related citationsSciSpace and Elicit: free for limited features; they translate natural language into search terms and then identify and summarizes relevant papers, and generate a mini literature reviewSee them in action (YouTube video) And we humans are here to help too! Need help finding the key research articles for your literature review or syllabus? Librarians can help you identify the strategies to find the best stuff and get to it—fast. ...

Library Tip of the Week: 7 ways to contact your reference librarian, 7 days/week

7 ways to contact your reference librarians, 7 days/week* Do you and your students know all the ways you can contact a librarian? Drop by the reference desk (hours) Live chat Text 925-291-9699 Call 925-631-4624 Book an in-person appointment Book a Zoom appointment Email your subject librarian or askalib@stmarys-ca.edu *during the academic semesters...

Library Tip of the Week: Exciting News and Updates from the College Archives

Exciting News and Updates from the College Archives Did you know that October is American Archives Month? In celebration, the Saint Mary's College Archives has been working hard to increase the online access to some of our most requested materials. The Collegian NewspaperPrimarily supported by our wonderful student workers, The Collegian newspaper has been digitized and made available online! Current access is available from the mid-1990’s through current issues. More volumes are added weekly as they are digitized. The late 1960’s and early 1970’s are slated for the next batch to be uploaded.Browse The Collegian Archive SMCA Photograph CollectionThe SMC Archives Photograph Collection has received a massive upgrade to aid in access and use. Our previous repository was seldom used, had a ton of duplicates and incorrect information, and required downloading to view the photo full-sized. Now hosted via ArchivesSpace, all of our digitized photographs have been reviewed and key information like dates, people, and locations have been verified. This project has been ongoing for the last two years and we are excited to share the first 500 photos are available now. There are about 3,000 photos in total and we hope to have the remaining collection available before the end of the year. SMCA Photograph Collection Fixed Points: The History of Saint Mary's College in the Bay AreaAre you a technophobe and prefer to all get all your information in real life 3-D? You’re in luck because the College Archives has a new exhibit outside the Visitor Center in Brother Jerome West! The exhibit explores the history of the College from its San Francisco roots, through Oakland, and the move to our beautiful Moraga campus.An extra special highlight of the exhibit is the display of the Cotton Bowl Trophy, the first time the trophy has been on public display on campus in recent memory. In 1939 the Saint Mary's Gaels were invited to the third annual Cotton Bowl Classic played in Dallas, Texas. The Gaels were up against the undefeated Texas Tech Raiders. Considered one of the biggest upsets in college sports history, the Gaels won 20-11 and brought home the almost five foot Cotton Bowl Trophy!The exhibit will be on display through the remainder of the academic year. Do you have photographs, records, ephemera, or stories to share with the College Archives? Email us at archives@stmarys-ca.edu....

Learn Zentangle: Special Crafternoon Workshop

Zentangle is an easy-to-learn, relaxing and fun way to create beautiful images by drawing structured patterns. A Zentangle design can look intricate but with one stroke at a time the complicated becomes simple.Mark your calendars! The Saint Mary's College Library will be hosting a special Crafternoon workshop on Monday, November 4 between 3-5 in the Library Learning Lab. We'll be learning how to Zentangle from Debbie Thompson, a Certified Zentangle Teacher (also, fun fact: Debbie is married to Roger Thompson, our SMC President). Zentangle is an easy-to-learn, relaxing and fun way to create beautiful images by drawing structured patterns. A Zentangle design can look intricate but with one stroke at a time the complicated becomes simple. All are welcome! Wheelchair accessible. Supplies are provided.Questions? Contact Margot Hanson: mdh15@stmarys-ca.edu ...

Veteran's Week Crafting

Leave a comment

Commenting on blog posts requires an account.

Login is required to interact with this comment. Please and try again.

If you do not have an account, Register Now.

Veteran's Week Crafting

Leave a comment

Commenting on blog posts requires an account.

Login is required to interact with this comment. Please login here and try again.

If you do not have an account, Register Now.

Login is required to interact with this comment. Please and try again.