Exciting News and Updates from the College Archives

 
 

Did you know that October is American Archives Month? In celebration, the Saint Mary's College Archives has been working hard to increase the online access to some of our most requested materials.

 
 

The Collegian Newspaper

Primarily supported by our wonderful student workers, The Collegian newspaper has been digitized and made available online! Current access is available from the mid-1990’s through current issues. More volumes are added weekly as they are digitized. The late 1960’s and early 1970’s are slated for the next batch to be uploaded.

 

SMCA Photograph Collection

The SMC Archives Photograph Collection has received a massive upgrade to aid in access and use. Our previous repository was seldom used, had a ton of duplicates and incorrect information, and required downloading to view the photo full-sized. Now hosted via ArchivesSpace, all of our digitized photographs have been reviewed and key information like dates, people, and locations have been verified. This project has been ongoing for the last two years and we are excited to share the first 500 photos are available now. There are about 3,000 photos in total and we hope to have the remaining collection available before the end of the year.

 
 
 

Fixed Points: The History of Saint Mary's College in the Bay Area

Are you a technophobe and prefer to all get all your information in real life 3-D? You’re in luck because the College Archives has a new exhibit outside the Visitor Center in Brother Jerome West! The exhibit explores the history of the College from its San Francisco roots, through Oakland, and the move to our beautiful Moraga campus.

An extra special highlight of the exhibit is the display of the Cotton Bowl Trophy, the first time the trophy has been on public display on campus in recent memory. In 1939 the Saint Mary's Gaels were invited to the third annual Cotton Bowl Classic played in Dallas, Texas. The Gaels were up against the undefeated Texas Tech Raiders. Considered one of the biggest upsets in college sports history, the Gaels won 20-11 and brought home the almost five foot Cotton Bowl Trophy!

The exhibit will be on display through the remainder of the academic year.

 

Do you have photographs, records, ephemera, or stories to share with the College Archives? Email us at archives@stmarys-ca.edu.