Library News - Research Guides at Saint Mary's College of California

Pause for Poetry: Black History Month Edition

02/23/2024

Gina Kessler Lee

No Subjects

Wednesday, February 28
1:30-2:15
SMC Library, 2nd floor

This February, we invite you to experience the art of community, love, and self determination in Black poetics -- and to participate in the transformative process of reflection and creation. Please bring something to write with and on, as we engage in shared reading and individual writing.

This post has no comments.

Commenting on blog posts requires an account.

Field Trip to the Lafayette Library

02/15/2024

Gina Kessler Lee

Events

Join the SMC Library and Honors Program on an outing to learn about the countless free resources available at the Lafayette Library! Field trip to Lafayette Library

Thursday, February 22, 5-6 PM

Bus: Meet at the SMC bus stop at 4:30 pm
Driving yourself: Meet us at the Lafayette Library at 5:00 pm

We'll have you back to campus around 6:30 p.m.

**RSVP to save your spot!**

This post has no comments.

Commenting on blog posts requires an account.

Valentine Crafting: Make Cards & Weave Friendship Bracelets

02/06/2024

Margot Hanson

Events

valentine crafternoon poster

Welcome back to the Spring semester. We're going to start off the semester with some crafting love on Monday, 2/12 from 3-4 in the SMC Library with Valentine crafts.

You can use our supplies to make cards, weave friendship bracelets with embroidery thread, or other creations you imagine.

Everyone is welcome, it's free to attend and wheelchair accessible. Contact Margot Hanson (mdh15@stmarys-ca.edu) if you have questions.

Hope to see you there!

This post has no comments.

Commenting on blog posts requires an account.

Subjects

Events

19

Remote Library Resources

1

Faculty Services

10

Tags

event

2

TipOfTheWeek

10

Events

1

Recent Posts

Library Tip of the Week: 7 ways to contact your reference librarian, 7 days/week

7 ways to contact your reference librarians, 7 days/week* Do you and your students know all the ways you can contact a librarian? Drop by the reference desk (hours) Live chat Text 925-291-9699 Call 925-631-4624 Book an in-person appointment Book a Zoom appointment Email your subject librarian or askalib@stmarys-ca.edu *during the academic semesters...

Library Tip of the Week: Exciting News and Updates from the College Archives

Exciting News and Updates from the College Archives Did you know that October is American Archives Month? In celebration, the Saint Mary's College Archives has been working hard to increase the online access to some of our most requested materials. The Collegian NewspaperPrimarily supported by our wonderful student workers, The Collegian newspaper has been digitized and made available online! Current access is available from the mid-1990’s through current issues. More volumes are added weekly as they are digitized. The late 1960’s and early 1970’s are slated for the next batch to be uploaded.Browse The Collegian Archive SMCA Photograph CollectionThe SMC Archives Photograph Collection has received a massive upgrade to aid in access and use. Our previous repository was seldom used, had a ton of duplicates and incorrect information, and required downloading to view the photo full-sized. Now hosted via ArchivesSpace, all of our digitized photographs have been reviewed and key information like dates, people, and locations have been verified. This project has been ongoing for the last two years and we are excited to share the first 500 photos are available now. There are about 3,000 photos in total and we hope to have the remaining collection available before the end of the year. SMCA Photograph Collection Fixed Points: The History of Saint Mary's College in the Bay AreaAre you a technophobe and prefer to all get all your information in real life 3-D? You’re in luck because the College Archives has a new exhibit outside the Visitor Center in Brother Jerome West! The exhibit explores the history of the College from its San Francisco roots, through Oakland, and the move to our beautiful Moraga campus.An extra special highlight of the exhibit is the display of the Cotton Bowl Trophy, the first time the trophy has been on public display on campus in recent memory. In 1939 the Saint Mary's Gaels were invited to the third annual Cotton Bowl Classic played in Dallas, Texas. The Gaels were up against the undefeated Texas Tech Raiders. Considered one of the biggest upsets in college sports history, the Gaels won 20-11 and brought home the almost five foot Cotton Bowl Trophy!The exhibit will be on display through the remainder of the academic year. Do you have photographs, records, ephemera, or stories to share with the College Archives? Email us at archives@stmarys-ca.edu....

Learn Zentangle: Special Crafternoon Workshop

Zentangle is an easy-to-learn, relaxing and fun way to create beautiful images by drawing structured patterns. A Zentangle design can look intricate but with one stroke at a time the complicated becomes simple.Mark your calendars! The Saint Mary's College Library will be hosting a special Crafternoon workshop on Monday, November 4 between 3-5 in the Library Learning Lab. We'll be learning how to Zentangle from Debbie Thompson, a Certified Zentangle Teacher (also, fun fact: Debbie is married to Roger Thompson, our SMC President). Zentangle is an easy-to-learn, relaxing and fun way to create beautiful images by drawing structured patterns. A Zentangle design can look intricate but with one stroke at a time the complicated becomes simple. All are welcome! Wheelchair accessible. Supplies are provided.Questions? Contact Margot Hanson: mdh15@stmarys-ca.edu ...

Library Tip of the Week: Publish Your Research in Open-Access Journals

Happy International Open Access Week! Open Access is the free, immediate, online availability of research articles combined with the rights to use these articles fully in the digital environment. –SPARC Publishing your research open access...ensures that researchers around the world can learn from and build on your discoveries gets your work more citations and more diverse readership (Huang et al., 2024)prioritizes community over commercialization! Did you know? The Library has transformative agreements with certain publishers that allow you to publish your research open access in their journals without paying an article-processing charge (APC). (More info) Even if your article is behind a paywall, we can host your manuscript open access in SMC Digital Commons. (More info) Want to go open? Contact your subject librarian to learn more...