Business Administration

Business Articles

Essential article databases

For articles in business journals, magazines, newspapers, and more, you will want to search two essential databases:

 

Other useful databases

Unless otherwise noted, these sources are included in Multisearch. These links will just limit results to those specific sources.

Newspapers of Record

 

The New York Times front page image

The New York Times

The Wall Street Journal front page image

The Wall Street Journal

The SMC Library has a site license for SMC community-wide access to The New York Times and Wall Street Journal online via their websites. Click one the links above to create an account and then use that account to access those websites from any computer or mobile device. 
 
See the FAQs pages for more information on signing up for The New York Times and The Wall Street Journal.

 

Use the following databases to search or browse other local, national, and international newspapers.

 

Other key local, state, and national newspapers for business news

 

East Bay Times cover image

East Bay Times

San Jose Mercury News cover image

San Jose Mercury News

Los Angeles Times cover image

Los Angeles Times

Sacramento Bee

Sacramento Bee

 

Key business-themed newspapers we have access to include

Barrons cover image

Barron's

Financial Times cover image

Financial Times

Please note that at this time, the Financial Times newspaper does not have a practical subscription model for institutional access. Access to this title through SMC is limited to our subscription databases. While true to the print content, this access lacks the browsability, as well as some articles, featured on the newspapers' websites. Additionally, online access to Financial Times is embargoed 30 days. Current content to Financial Times is only available via our print subscription available in the Library.

 

Popular titles to browse

Business Week cover image

Business Week

The Economist cover image

The Economist

Forbes cover image

Forbes

Fortune cover image

Fortune

Harvard Business Review cover image

Harvard Business Review

McKinsey Quarterly cover image

The McKinsey Quarterly

 

Also, sign up for your account in Browzine to build virtual shelves for your favorite academic titles. You'll be able to see table of contents alerts when new issues are published. And for journals we subscribe to, you'll have seamless links to the full text. 

 

You can search for other specific titles in the search box below. 

 

If we don't have immediate access to an article you need, you can always request it through Interlibrary Loan (ILLiad) for electronic delievery in 3-4 business days.

Government Agencies

Search USA.gov to find reports and documents about issues of international, national, and regional importance from various applicable government agencies.

For more specific searching, trying searching for your interests in Google, and add "site:gov" to your search (without the quotation marks) to limit your results to only those from US government agencies. You can limit to state by adding the state abbreviate, as well (example: "site:ca.gov").

screenshot of google search screen

 

 

Non-Governmental Organizations (NGOs)

An increasing power on the World's stage is the non-governmental organization. The US alone is home to over 1.5 million NGOs. See the searchable directory to find NGOs on any given topic from WANGO, a leading umbrella organization for NGOs.

World Association of Non-Governmental Organizations (WANGO)

 

Also, Duke University offers a customized Google search box that limits keyword and topic searchs to known and verified NGO resources: Duke University Libraries NGO Guide

 

Research Institutes ("Think Tanks")

"Think tanks" are policy Institutes that research contemporary and important social and economic issues. Often housed by universities or afflicated with political action groups, think tanks are a wealth of great data and analysis, though not without bias. Research the background of think tanks to know more about their positions. 

Below are some of the more well known think tanks related to business and economics:

Brookings Institution

Cato Institute

Conference Board

Heritage Foundation

The Hoover Institution

National Bureau of Economic Research

RAND

Public Policy Institute of California

Also see the comprehensive guide to think tanks from the Library of Harvard's Kennedy School. Use the customized Google search they developed to search for your topic in hundreds of known think tanks.

Creative Commons License

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.