Research Guides: SMC Library Pride Month: Scholarly Articles and Resources

News Outlets

NOTE: LGBTQIA studies can cross many disciplines. A good starting point is Multisearch.

You can also explore discipline specific databases for scholarly journals and other more general databases for news, current issues and opinion.

Here are a sampling of databases. Be sure to explore other Research Guides for relevant databases.

Sociological Abstracts
Indexes and abstracts articles in various sociological fields
PsycINFO (APA)
PsycINFO is a database that provides abstracts and citations to the scholarly literature in the behavioral sciences and mental health.
Women's Studies International
Women's Studies International covers the core disciplines in Women's Studies and spans from 1972 and earlier to the present.

Alt-PressWatch
Full text database of the newspapers, magazines and journals from alternative and independent presses. This interdisciplinary resource provides a valuable source of alternative viewpoints and perspectives to complement and challenge mainstream media coverage.
Ethnic NewsWatch
A full-text collection of the newspapers, magazines and journals of the ethnic, minority and native press
Access World News
Regional, US, and international newspapers
Newspaper Source
Provides cover-to-cover full text for more than 40 U.S. & international newspapers. Also contains selective full text for 389 regional U.S. newspapers

Academic Search Complete
This scholarly collection offers full-text coverage of information in many areas of academic study
GenderWatch
Archival database of unique and diverse publications on important historical perspectives on the evolution of the gender movements & studies, the transgender community, and gender role changes over the years
HeinOnline
Comprehensive government documents and legal research spanning over more than 2,500 journals
ProQuest Social Science Database
Provides indexing, abstracts, and full text for social science subject journals