Research Guides: BIOL 351: Evolution: Databases

Article Databases

Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Unified search of Arts & Humanities, Science, and Social Sciences Citation indexes. Indexes and abstracts more than 10,000 major scholarly journals. Provides the number of times cited and links to those articles, as well as full bibliographies.
Library Search This link opens in a new window
Library Search is an easy but powerful way to access nearly all of our information resources (including our book holdings, Web of Science, Project Muse and more) from a single search box. Mobile-friendly; devices are automatically detected.
PubMed Medline This link opens in a new window
Provides access to over 34 million citations from MEDLINE and other life science journals for biomedical articles back to the 1950s. Includes links to many sites providing full text articles and other related resources.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Let Google Scholar find articles for you, within our library's collection! Use this link when off campus and Google Scholar will help you access items from Saint Mary's electronic resources collection.

Publisher Databases

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Provides cross-searchable access to annual summaries of research in the biomedical sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences. For most titles, full text access is available back to 1996, with searchable abstracts online before that date.
Nature.com: Nature Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Provides access to publications from the Nature Publishing Group in different subject areas, including biotechnology, cancer, chemistry, clinical medicine, dentistry, developmental biology, drug discovery, earth sciences, evolution & ecology, genetics, immunology, materials science, medicine, microbiology, molecular cell biology, neuroscience, pharmacology, and physics.
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Research database indexing articles in more than 2000 peer-reviewed journals in science, technology, medicine and social sciences.
Springer Link This link opens in a new window
Online service providing full text access to journals and ebooks in science and technology; biological, agricultural and environmental sciences; medicine; business and economics; law; and humanities and social sciences. Citations, abstracts and tables of contents may be searched
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Full text articles back to 1997 from 80% of the 300 periodicals published by Wiley and its associated publishers. Fields covered include the sciences--mathematics, chemistry, physics, computer science--and also business and psychology

Primary Research Article or Review Article?

Primary research articles and review articles are both categories of scientific literature that are useful and important when researching a topic, but they have different purposes and contain different types of information.

This infographic from Editage Insights provides some examples of distinctions between research articles and review article. You might find it helpful when trying to identify what type of article you're reading, or what type of article will be the best fit for your research needs.

BIOL 351: Evolution

Library session

Science Librarian

Article Databases

Publisher Databases

Primary Research Article or Review Article?