Research Guides: Accounting: Key Financial Statements

Key Financial Statements

Public Companies
Nonprofit Organizations

Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Covers over 15,000 U.S. public companies (active and inactive) listed on the NYSE, AMEX and NASDAQ exchanges, and 20,000 non-U.S. companies (active and inactive). Also includes Mergent Horizon, a source for information on companies' products, trade names, supplier relationships.

Use for
*in-depth public company data
*supply chain information (see Horizon tab)

D&B Hoovers This link opens in a new window
Searchable database about top international companies, including company profiles, financial data, corporate structure, executive biographies, and business news and analyses. [Name changed from OneSource] Works best in the Firefox browser.

Use for
*More in-depth analysis of both public and private, US-based and international companies (SWOT analyses, Technologies in Use notes, and CRUSH reports)
*Creating lists of companies by various segment filters

Morningstar Investing Center This link opens in a new window
Morningstar Investing Center is an investment resource offering proprietary search & analysis tools for stocks, mutual funds, and exchange-traded funds, with industry reports, investment primers, and portfolio analysis features.

EDGAR
Repository of registration statements, periodic reports, and other forms submitted to the U.S. Security and Exchange Commission. (Data also available via Mergent sources.)

Also see resources under "Company Information" on Business Administration Subject Guide.

Need some help understanding and interpreting financial statements? See the book How to Read a Financial Report for tips. Other accounting handbooks and textbooks can also be helpful.

GuideStar
One of the most recognized resources for researching nonprofit organizations. Create a free profile to access full records and the most comprehensive data available. Includes Form 990s and proprietary ratings.
Charity Navigator
Another resource for investigating non-profits. Includes Form 990s and their own rating system.
The Foundation Center
A key resource for connecting nonprofits. Includes Form 990s.