Citation Managers

Step 1: Go to the Zotero Download Page, and select "Install Zotero". 

• For a Mac computer, drag the Zotero icon to the Applications folder and add it to your dock like any other program 
• For a PC, run the set up program you downloaded.
• For Linux, follow this link to get more instructions. 

Step 2: A Word Processor Plugin lets you insert citations and bibliographies directly into a word document. Go to the Word Processor Plugin Page, and choose the most recent version. To install: 

• Close Word
• Click the link labeled "Install the Word for Windows Plugin" or "Install the Word for Mac Plugin" 
• When you see the message "Firefox prevented this site from asking you to install software on your computer" click "Allow" 
• Restart Firefox when prompted

Install Zotero Connectors: 

The Zotero Connectors allow your web browser to save citations to your Zotero library automatically. Open the web browser you would like to use Zotero with, and click the Zotero Connector link for that browser to install it. 

Each browser has its own version of the Zotero connector, so if you use Chrome, Safari and Firefox, you'll need to install all the connectors. 

After you have installed the connector, be sure to close and restart the browser. 

Finish Installing: 

Be sure to create an account and once you've validated your email, Zotero will ask you to finish setting up your preferences. 

Step 1: Add your username and password, then open Zotero by clicking on the Zotero icon in the browser toolbar or opening the Zotero Standalone app from your computer's dock 

Step 2: Select the actions menu button (which looks like a gear), at the top of the left column and click "preference". Then select the "Sync" tab. 

Step 3: Then enter your username and password into the sync preferences.

Zotero will now automatically sync your saved items!

Saving Citations to Zotero

Open your Zotero library by clicking the "Z" in the upper right hand corner of your browser. Zotero can automatically tell if you are looking at a book, article or website online. In the upper right hand corner of your browser an icon will display next to the Zotero "Z" icon. Select the icon to save the resource to your Zotero Library. 

Also, if you're on a page with more then one resource, the icon will display as a manila folder. Then you can choose multiple items to add to your Zotero library. 

Zotero can also save newspapers, blogs, audio recordings, artwork and tons more. Usually Zotero displays the icon in the upper right hand corner of Firefox to reflect what the item is, but if Zotero isn't sure what the item your saving actually is, it will save it as a website and you can edit the details of the item after it is saved. 

Organizing Your Citations:

Easily organize your citations by creating folders by clicking on the yellow manila envelope in the top left hand corner of the Zotero panel. Name the collection, and then add citations to it by dragging and dropping the resource from your main Zotero library. Citations can exist in multiple collection folders at once without you have to save the citation more than once. 

It's also easy to attach files or PDFs to your citations. Simply drag and drop the item into the citation you want it to be attached to, or, to create a new citation, drop them in between library citations.

Creating Quick Bibliographies: 

It's easy to create a bibliography in your Zotero library. Open Zotero by clicking on the "Z" in the upper right hand corner of the browser, then right click on the folder that contains the citations you plan to make into a bibliography. Choose "Create Bibliography from Collection" 

Choose the citation style you want ot use, the output mode will automatically be set to "Bibliography" and you can opt to either save the document as an RTF or copy to clipboard. Either method will allow you to copy and paste the bibliography into your paper. 

Zotero also allows you to create in text citations by using a Word Processor Integration Plugin. Click here to find out more. 

Adding Additional Styles to Zotero:

Zotero comes with many citation styles, but many more are available to download. 

To install a style (Firefox): 

• Go to the Zotero Style Repository page in Firefox
• Search for the name of the style you need
• Click the "Install" link next to the style, then the "Install" button to confirm

To install a style (Zotero Standalone): 

• Go to the Zotero Style Repository page in Firefox
• Search for the name of the style you need
• Download the style (right-clikc the Install link and choose "Save As") 
• Open Zotero preferences. Click "Cite" then "Styles", then the "+" button, and select the style you downloaded (a .CSL file)

The new style will appear in Zotero's style file. 

Zotero's Groups feature allows you to share references with other Zotero users online. It's a great way to work on collaborative research projects. 

First, set up Zotero sync and synchronize your library. 

• To create a shared library, click the Create Groups burron near the top left of your Zotero window (small blue/green button with two "people" icons, second from the left) 
• To join an existing Zotero library, search for it at zotero.org/groups or be invited by the group's owner. 
• You must log in to the zotero.org website to create or join a group. 

You now have two sections in your Zotero collections pane: My library and Group Libraries. 

Personal and Group libraries are entirely separate, and changes made to items in one library do not affect the other. 

Search for existing public groups or create a new group. Groups may be public (searchable, and anyone can join) or private (users can only join if invited).