Research Guides: Counseling: Encyclopedias & Handbooks

Handbooks

Handbooks contain entries that summarize and define complex research and also highlights important scholars. Use handbooks to get background information, define theories, and find seminal scholars.

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
A discovery service and research platform, offers searching and the full text of some 3.4 million individual entries from a wide range of subject-based reference works, along with images, videos, and audio files.
Routledge Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Routledge Handbooks Online brings together the world’s leading scholars to provide a cutting-edge overview of classic and current research and future trends in the Social Sciences and Humanities, while at the same time providing an authoritative guide to theory and method, the key sub-disciplines, and the primary debates of today.
Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Oxford Handbooks Online (OHO), the home of scholarly research reviews, is an outstanding collection of the best Handbooks in 14 subject areas.
Sage Reference This link opens in a new window
A database of reference encyclopedias and handbooks published by Sage covering the social sciences and education. Subject categories include such areas as African American Studies, Aged & Gerontology, Anthropology, Communication and Media Studies, Criminology and Criminal Justice, Economics, Education, Gender & Sexuality Studies, History, Politics, Psychology, Social Issues, Social Work & Social Policy, and Sociology