Research Guides: Chem 105: Principles of Chemistry: Dietary Supplement Databases

Dietary Supplement Resources

Dietary Supplement Label Database
The Dietary Supplement Label Database (DSLD) includes full label derived information from dietary supplement products marketed in the U.S. All information contained in this database comes from product labels and has not been checked or verified for conformity with existing U.S. Food and Drug Administration (FDA) regulations.
PubMed
Use to find primary and secondary research articles related to a dietary supplement. PubMed comprises more than 32 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.

ClinicalTrials.gov
ClinicalTrials.gov is a database of privately and publicly funded clinical studies conducted around the world. This free database is provided by the U.S. National Library of Medicine.

PubChem
The world's largest collection of freely accessible chemical information. Search chemicals by name, molecular formula, structure, and other identifiers. Find chemical and physical properties, biological activities, safety and toxicity information, patents, literature citations and more.
ChemSpider
ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database providing fast access to over 67 million structures, properties, and associated information. By integrating and linking compounds from hundreds of high-quality data sources, ChemSpider enables researchers to discover the most comprehensive view of freely available chemical data from a single online search. It is owned by the Royal Society of Chemistry.

ACS Journals This link opens in a new window
The peer-reviewed journals of ACS publish articles across a broad spectrum of scientific disciplines: agricultural science, biotechnology, analytical chemistry, applied chemistry, biochemistry & molecular biology, chemical biology, chemical engineering, computer science, crystallography, energy & fuels, food science, environmental science, inorganic & nuclear chemistry, material science, medicinal chemistry, organic chemistry, pharmacology, physical chemistry, plant sciences, polymer science, and toxicology.
ChemNetBase This link opens in a new window
Look for information about the chemical properties of your dietary supplement ingredients using the general search or within the Dictionary of Drugs subsection.

Dietary Supplement Fact Sheets
This collection of fact sheets and other resources from the NIH Office of Dietary Supplements and other federal government sources presents information about dietary supplements and their ingredients.
ODS Dictionary of Dietary Supplement Terms
The NIH Office of Dietary Supplements (ODS) Dictionary features terms related to dietary supplements and health found in the ODS fact sheets for consumers. Use this source to look up key terms or definitions related to dietary supplements.
MedLine Plus: Herbs and Supplements
MedLine Plus is a consumer-focused database that provides easy to understand information on a variety of topics. The "Herbs and Supplements" section allows you to browse dietary supplements and herbal remedies to learn about their effectiveness, usual dosage, and drug interactions.
FDA Dietary Supplement Ingredient Directory
Includes links to FDA’s actions and communications with regard to some dietary ingredients and other ingredients used in products marketed as dietary supplements.