Research Guides: Economics: Economic Articles and Reports

Economics Articles

Essential article databases

Econlit This link opens in a new window
Indexed bibliography with selected abstracts of the world's economic literature (over 300 economic journals and collected volumes). Over 90% of the articles are in English or include English summaries

For more articles in business journals, magazines, newspapers, and more, you will want to search two other essential databases:

Business Source Complete This link opens in a new window
The industry's most popular business research database, features the full text for more than 2,100 journals, including access to the Harvard Business Review.
ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Includes abstracts and indexing to articles from over 1,000 worldwide business periodicals, including The Wall Street Journal, with information on advertising, marketing, economics, human resources, finance, taxation, computers, and more. Also, information on 60,000+ companies.

Political Science Focus

Europa World Plus This link opens in a new window
Presents political and economic information on countries and territories as well as international organizations. Features statistical data and directories
CIAO This link opens in a new window
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) focuses on theory and research in international affairs from 1991 to the present.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
This database chronicles issues in the public debate through highly selective coverage of a wide variety of sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material and more. The database includes a historical perspective on many of the 20th century's social and public policies such as Prohibition, the civil rights movement, McCarthyism, Vietnam and Watergate.

Multi-disciplinary Databases

The Library Search box on the Library's homepage will find articles and more in multiple subject specific resources, including Web of Science, Science Direct, JSTOR, and Project Muse.

Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
Let Google Scholar find articles for you, within our library's collection! Use this link when off campus and Google Scholar will help you access items from Saint Mary's electronic resources collection.

Theses and Dissertations

You can use dissertations as resources by mining the works cited and literature reviews.

Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
Includes citations for dissertations ranging from 1861 to those accepted last semester; those published from 1980 forward include 350-word abstracts. Includes full text online for dissertations issued 1997-to the present. Citations for master's theses from 1988 forward include 150-word abstracts. Titles represent authors from North America and Europe, with over a million titles in full text.

Newspapers of Record

The New York Times

(First time? Register your account)

The Wall Street Journal

(First time? Register your account here)

Financial Times

(First time? Register your account here)

The SMC Library has a site license for SMC community-wide access to The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, and Financial Times online via their websites. Click one the links above to create an account and then use that account to access those websites from any computer or mobile device.

See the FAQs pages for more information on signing up for The New York Times, The Wall Street Journal, and Financial Times.

Use the following databases to search or browse other local, national, and international newspapers.

San Francisco Chronicle This link opens in a new window
Historical coverage of this newspaper from 1865-the present.
Access World News This link opens in a new window
Use this resource to find full-text of the English-language newspapers from around the world. Also includes small regional newspapers from throughout the US.

Popular titles to browse

Business Week

The Economist

Forbes

Fortune

Harvard Business Review

The McKinsey Quarterly

You can search for other specific titles in the search box below.

If we don't have immediate access to an article you need, you can always request it through Resource Sharing for electronic delievery in 3-4 business days.

Government Agencies

Search USA.gov to find reports and documents about issues of international, national, and regional importance from various applicable government agencies.

For more specific searching, trying searching for your interests in Google, and add "site:gov" to your search (without the quotation marks) to limit your results to only those from US government agencies. You can limit to state by adding the state abbreviate, as well (example: "site:ca.gov").

screenshot of google search screen for renewable energy followed by site : gov

Non-Governmental Organizations (NGOs)

An increasing power on the World's stage is the non-governmental organization. The US alone is home to over 1.5 million NGOs. See the searchable directory to find NGOs on any given topic from WANGO, a leading umbrella organization for NGOs.

World Association of Non-Governmental Organizations (WANGO)

Also, Duke University offers a customized Google search box that limits keyword and topic searchs to known and verified NGO resources: Duke University Libraries NGO Guide

Research Institutes ("Think Tanks")

"Think tanks" are policy Institutes that research contemporary and important social and economic issues. Often housed by universities or afflicated with political action groups, think tanks are a wealth of great data and analysis, though not without bias. Research the background of think tanks to know more about their positions.

Below are some of the more well known think tanks related to business and economics:

Brookings Institution

Cato Institute

Conference Board

Heritage Foundation

The Hoover Institution

National Bureau of Economic Research

RAND

Public Policy Institute of California

Also see the comprehensive guide to think tanks from the Library of Harvard's Kennedy School. Use the customized Google search they developed to search for your topic in hundreds of known think tanks.

Economics