Research Guides: Leadership Project and Fieldwork (LDSH 408): Background Information

Background Information

Books and Reference
Videos

Print and e-books available in the SMC collection can be found using the search box on the Library's homepage.

Background information and reference sources

For definitions, explanations, and historical reviews of communication topics and theories, you have access to many scholarly encyclopedias and handbooks. The recommended resources to search are

Credo Reference
Encyclopedias and other reference works on all topics
Sage Reference
Database of reference encyclopedias and handbooks published by Sage covering the social sciences and education
Gale Ebooks
Encyclopedias and other reference works on a range of subjects

All videos, in DVD and streaming, in the SMC collection can be found using the search box on the Library's homepage. Start with your keyword or title and use the limits on the left side of your results page to narrow to "videos."

You can also browse the three online collections for just streaming films:

Kanopy
Streaming feature films and academic videos, including independent film, world cinema, Criterion Collection, A24 productions, and more.

*Approvals are paused for the summer and will resume closer to the beginning of the fall semester.

(Connecting to Kanopy: Scroll down until you see a bright red button saying Login to STMARYS. Select that, and you'll be asked to do that one more time. You may then be asked to authenticate using your SMC login and password)"
Films on Demand
Streaming videos from producers including PBS, BBC Learning, National Geographic, HBO, TED, and Films for the Humanities & Sciences
Academic Video Online
Academic streaming videos