Archives exist to serve as proof that specific events occurred and explain how something happened. They exist to strengthen collective memory and protect people's rights, property, and identity. The word archive can be used in two different ways:
Academic archives preserve materials relating to a specific college or university. Academic archives exist to first serve their parent organization and alumni but may also have special collections.
Community archives collect and preserve the materials related to a specific group or community. They are often created in response to the needs defined by members of a specific community and can be managed with or without the oversee of a formerly trained archivist.
Corporate archives are usually archival departments within a company that manages and preserves the records of the business. These archives exist to serve the needs of the company and staff but may also be open to the public.
Government archives are repositories that collect material related to local, state, or national governments.
Historical societies are organizations that seek to preserve and promote the interest of a specific regions, historical period, or nongovernment organizations.
Religious archives serve as the repository for church documents, historical materials, and official documents. They are sometimes open to the public.
Special collections are institutions containing materials from individuals, families, and organizations that are deemed to have historical value. Topics within special collections can vary widely and are often a department within a library or archive.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.
