44 Days Honoring Black History: "Telling Our Own Stories"

This SMC Library Research Guide is a collection of resources related to Black History. The Research Guide has been created to accompany the SMC Black Lives Matter Subcommittee's 2021 44 Days: Honoring Black History.

SMC College Archives

The Saint Mary’s College Archives collects, preserves, and provides access to records, publications, and other documents pertaining to the history of the College.

The College Archives was created to collect and preserve these documents and to serve the research needs of the College community and the public. The collections include documents dating from the founding of the College in 1863 in San Francisco, through its relocation to the “Brickpile” campus in Oakland in 1889, to its move to the Moraga campus in 1928 and up to the present.

The College Archives is located on the third floor of Saint Albert Hall Library. Access the the College Archives is available by appointment only. Email the College Archives at archives@stmarys-ca.edu.

The College Archives catalog is incomplete but can be searched online at stmarys.libraryhost.com/.

Photo Gallery

Brother Jerome, LaRoy Doss, Elaine McKeon, 1990

LaRoy Doss played basketball at Saint Mary's from 1956 - 1959. He was the first African-American player in Saint Mary's College history and their first to be named West Coast Conference player of the year. He later became a trustee of the College.

Robert Terrell, 1975

Photograph of Robert Terrell, Director of Experimental Education; Coordinator, Office of Research and Planning, 1975.

Odell Johnson, 1970

Odell Johnson, Dean of Students, 1970

Tom Brown, 1970

Tom Brown, Dean of Academic Advising, 1970

Collections at Saint Mary's

Creative Commons License

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.