Research Guides: Chem 300: Chemical Literature: Books, encyclopedias & other resources by subdiscipline

General Chemistry Encyclopedias & Handbooks

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Search online encyclopedias and handbooks

The Chemist's Ready Reference Handbook
Call Number: Ref 540.2 Sh92
Publication Date: 1990

IUPAC Compendium of Chemical Terminology - The "gold book" for definitions of chemical terms. Based on the 1997 2nd edition, but regularly updated.

Encyclopedia of Chemical Technology
Call Number: Ref 660.3 K634a
Publication Date: 2004-2007
Lange's Handbook of Chemistry
The Merck Index by Maryadele J. O'Neil (Editor)
Call Number: Ref 615.1 M537 2013
ISBN: 9781849736701
Publication Date: 2013

NIST Chemistry Webbook. Synonyms, structure and mass spectra data for mostly organic compounds.

ChemBioFinder. Free to search, but you need to register.

Sigma-Aldrich. Search under Products for compounds and other products for sale. For compounds includes structure, formula, and MSDS.

ChemView. EPA database of health and safety information for regulated compounds.

Properties of organic compounds includes spectral peaks; included in

Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
See Annual Review of Chemistry, which summarizes research results reported during the past year.

IRIS (Integrated Risk Information System) - Hazard identification and dose-response assessments for more than 500 chemicals;
TRI (Toxics Release Inventory) - Annual environmental releases of more than 600 toxic chemicals by U.S. facilities;

Organic Chemistry Resources Worldwide
Website designed by and for the specific needs of organic chemists.

Organic reactions
Call Number: 547 Or14a
Organic syntheses (Collective volume)
Call Number: 547 Or13
Publication Date: 1941 -
Provides the chemistry community with detailed, reliable, and carefully checked procedures for the synthesis of organic compounds.
Strategic Applications of Named Reactions in Organic Synthesis by Laszlo Kurti; Barbara Czakó
Call Number: Reference: 1st Floor; 547.2 K967
ISBN: 9780124297852
Publication Date: 2005

ChemNetBase This link opens in a new window
Component databases can also be searched separately: Combined chemical dictionary, Dictionary of commonly cited compounds, Dictionary of inorganic and organometallic compounds, Dictionary of natural products, Dictionary of organic compounds, Handbook of chemistry and physics, Dictionary of drugs, Polymers: a property database, and Properties of organic compounds, Dictionary of food compounds, Dictionary of carbohydrates, Dictionary of marine natural resources.

Organic Syntheses
Organic Syntheses has provided the chemistry community with detailed, reliable, and carefully checked procedures for the synthesis of organic compounds. Some procedures describe practical methods for the preparation of specific compounds of interest, while other procedures illustrate important synthetic methods with general utility. Each procedure is written in considerably more detail as compared to typical experimental procedures in other journals, and each reaction with its characterization data has been repeated several times and carefully "checked" for reproducibility in the laboratory of a member of the Board of Editors.

ChemNetBase This link opens in a new window
Component databases can also be searched separately: Combined chemical dictionary, Dictionary of commonly cited compounds, Dictionary of inorganic and organometallic compounds, Dictionary of natural products, Dictionary of organic compounds, Handbook of chemistry and physics, Dictionary of drugs, Polymers: a property database, and Properties of organic compounds, Dictionary of food compounds, Dictionary of carbohydrates, Dictionary of marine natural resources.

KnowledgeDoor
Easily find common equations for area and volume alongside lesser-known equations for acoustic impedence and luminous energy, mathematical constants in a variety of metric and non-SI units, linked to a list of full primary or secondary citations.
WebElements
Quick, basic information.