The Test Collection contains educational and psychological test kits for use by SMC faculty and authorized students. It is intended to support the teaching and learning process of students enrolled in courses that require the use of the test kits.
The Test Collection is restricted to authorized borrowers only. In order to be eligible to borrow test kits, students must be currently enrolled in a course requiring the use of test kits.
It is the responsibility of faculty to instruct students in the appropriate and ethical use of test materials including test security and copyright restrictions. The collection development policy for the Test Collection can be found here.
The Test Collection is housed at the Saint Albert Library at the Access Services Desk.
List of Tests and Assessments:
The General Test Collection is available to students enrolled in COUN 620, EDUC 541, SPED 599, and students of the School Psychology Program.
The School Psych Collection is available only to students enrolled in the School Psychology Program in the following classes:
COUN 620 - Psychological Testing and Assessment
COUN 712/SPSY 624 - Intro to Psychological Assessment
COUN 722/SPSY 625 - Neuro Cognitive Assessment
COUN 732/SPSY 732 - Assessment of Social & Emotional Functioning
The Test Collection is housed at the Saint Albert Library at the Access Services Desk (to the left of the library entrance). You can search the general test collection at SMC by test name, test acronym and/or author's name(s). School Psychology students please contact your professor or subject librarian for a list of tests you are authorized to use. The librarians can help you with searching for tests and with finding information on specific named tests. Please consult your professor for questions about which tests best measure criteria and which tests fulfill assignment criteria.
How do I check out a Test Kit?
Once you have located the specific test kit you are looking for from the catalog links above, find the SMC Call #
Head to the Access Services desk and let circulation staff know which SMC call # you are interested in.
Test Kit Policy:
Authorized borrowers may check out two tests at a time.
Test kits may be checked out for seven days. Due to high demand, test kits are not available for renewal and cannot be placed on hold.
Overdue Test kits will be marked lost.
Returning Test Kits:
When returning a test kit, circulation staff will check in every portion of the kit. This can take up to 10 minutes. The authorized borrower must remain until the test kit is completely checked in.
Mental Measurements Yearbook (EBSCO)
Follow the links below to view sample searches. You will be asked to login with your Saint Mary’s login and password.
WAIS-IV: Search by test name.
Advanced Search by "Test Category"
1. Choose Advanced Search
2. Scroll down to desired "Test Category"
3. In search boxes, type age level or other qualifier.
4. This example: child* and emotional development
Buros Institute on Mental Measures: Note that these test reviews are evaluations of the tests, not the actual tests themselves. Find the review for the test you are looking for, and then order the review through Resource Sharing.
Review information (including validity & reliability) about specific tests or assessments can also be found in scholarly research articles. The most useful databases to find these types of articles are: ERIC, PsycInfo, and Dissertation and Theses
Looking for an empirical study and trying to find a review or an example of a non-commercial test that you found in the article? Try these steps!
1) Choose an article database such as PsycInfo, or Education Source.
2) Search for an empirical article. Empirical articles are created original research. The authors develop a hypothesis, run an experiment, test it, and synthesize the results. Within the article you wish to find should be assessments, or measurements, of experiment and its data. An example of this: measuring anger in children or adolescents. Is anger a feeling, or an action? How can the authors be sure that their measurement of anger is consistent with other such studies? Below is an example of a search that includes some of these questions. Some databases like PsycInfo also let you filter by methodology: empirical study either before or after you run your search. See below.
3) Scan the results. Click on titles of interest and look at the abstract. If you go into the article, look at the Methods section to see if there were assessments or tests to look at the data results. These test titles can be then examined in separate databases called PsycTests OR Mental Measurements Yearbook. PsycTests includes unpublished tests found in empirical studies, as well as commercially published tests. Mental Measurements Yearbook reviews commercially published tests and some better known unpublished tests.
This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.