Research Guides: Global Business courses: Country Facts and Background Information

Country Facts and Background Information

The Library has some great sources for finding out background and data for countries. Remember to also search for books and videos in the library's catalog if you want to look into more background about a country, and then also find contemporary or scholarly articles in the article databases.

Mergent Online This link opens in a new window
Mostly used for in-depth public company information, Mergent Online also includes deep and rich country profiles from a business standpoint. See the Country Insight tab in that resource.

Europa World Plus This link opens in a new window
Presents political and economic information on countries, territories, and international organizations, featuring statistical data and directories

Global Edge
Created by the International Business Center and the Eli Broad College of Business at Michigan State University (IBC), globalEDGE™ is a knowledge web-portal that connects international business professionals worldwide to a wealth of information, insights, and learning resources on global business activities.
CIA World Factbook
The US Central Intelligence Agency's highly used collection of information on countries and transnational issues.
U.S. Bilateral Relations Fact Sheets
U.S. Department of State background notes and agreements, arranged by country.

Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Includes Countries of the World and their Leaders, Encyclopedia of American Foreign Policy, and Worldmark Encyclopedia of the Nations
Sage Reference This link opens in a new window
Database of reference encyclopedias and handbooks published by Sage covering the social sciences and education
A-Z Maps This link opens in a new window
Includes 4,000+ historical, political, physical, climate, and other thematic maps. Geography quizzes, lesson plans, and videos.