Research Guides: Global and Regional Studies: Getting Started

Getting Started

Looking for books? Or maybe articles? You may be looking up a particular theory to apply to your research. If you are starting your research on a major paper, like your senior capstone, be sure and find some good background material on your topic from academic encyclopedias, handbooks, and books and ebooks too. For theories, the Routledge and Oxford handbooks, as well as Sage Reference, are particularly helpful. Here are some recommended starting points.

Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
This database is also a collection of academic encyclopedias, and includes such titles as Encyclopedia of Genocide and Crimes against Humanity, Human Rights Encyclopedia, and Human and Civil Rights: Essential Primary Sources.
Oxford Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Use this database to find scholarly research reviews covering areas of major research in multiple areas. This is an excellent place to look if you are doing a literature review.
Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Encyclopedias, dictionaries, companions, and other reference works spanning the disciplines, from Oxford University Press. Use this to find excellent overviews of a variety of academic subjects
Routledge Handbooks Online This link opens in a new window
Use this database to find scholarly research reviews covering areas of major research in the Social Sciences and Humanities. This is an excellent place to look if you are doing a literature review.
Sage Reference This link opens in a new window
This database specializes in subject based handbooks and encyclopedias in the social sciences. Try your subject in search to find scholarly topical essays.

Use Library Search for books, ebooks, film and video. It also searches for articles across hundreds of databases.