Research Guides: Global and Regional Studies: Journal Articles

Journal Articles

The heart of your research involves searching for scholarly articles, reports, etc. that relate to your paper. While Library Search can easily search for articles across many databases, here are some specific databases that relate to the GRS program. This list is not comprehensive, so please ask for help if you need it.

PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
A great place to start if you are doing in-depth research on public policy issues. This is a database filled with journal articles, government documents, reports, and even some book chapters, and focuses on global issues.
CIAO This link opens in a new window
Journal articles and reports on international affairs
ProQuest All This link opens in a new window
Search all nineteen Proquest databases at once. These include: PAIS, Worldwide Political Science Abstracts, Sociological Abstracts, Dissertations and Theses, and ABI/Inform
Hispanic American Periodicals Index This link opens in a new window
Over 275,000 journal article citations about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States
Sociological Abstracts This link opens in a new window
A huge database of scholarly and popular literature that relates to sociological themes.
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
Search for government documents and legal research.
Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
The premier database for scholarly and popular articles for Women's Studies.

Want to see if a journal is peer-reviewed? Check the title in Ulrich's. If it says Academic/Scholarly in the Content Type heading, then it is an academic journal, which may or may not be peer-reviewed. If it says "yes" next to Refereed then it is a peer-reviewed journal. You can also see the refereed symbol in a chart to the left of the results, a black image that reminds me of gritted teeth.

Additionally, you can use Ulrich's to find the full name of an abbreviated title. For instance if you type in: Pak J Med Sci, Ulrich's will display Pakistan Journal of Medical Sciences

Ulrich's Directory of Periodicals This link opens in a new window
Do a search by journal title to see if your journal is peer-reviewed or not!

And then, you can always search in Multisearch, which searches over 60 of our databases at one time. It also searches Albert, our online catalog, too.