Research Guides: Women's and Gender Studies: Articles and Databases

Articles and Databases

Library Search

One way to find articles is to use Library Search - this will search across many of our databases. Once you search, you can limit to articles under Source Type on the lefthand sidebar. Click here to see more search tips.

Databases

Or you can begin or continue your research within a database. These will return fewer and more focused results. Start with the databases below or browse our entire list of databases here.

Women's Studies International This link opens in a new window
Nearly 800 essential sources include: journals, newspapers, newsletters, bulletins, books, book chapters, proceedings, reports, theses, dissertations, NGO studies, web sites & web documents and grey literature.
Proquest Diversity This link opens in a new window
Diversity Collection provides a global view of some of the biggest topics in diversity, equity, and inclusion. It focuses on ethnic, minority, and native presses, grassroots newspapers and magazines, and journals, news and newsletters focusing on gender and sexuality.
PsycINFO (APA) This link opens in a new window
PsycInfo includes scholarly materials, case studies, tests, dissertations, assessments and more. Topics include general psychology and specialized, basic, applied, clinical and theoretical research in psychology and also psychological aspects of related disciplines like medicine, psychiatry, nursing, sociology, education, pharmacology, physiology, linguistics, anthropology, business and law.
JSTOR This link opens in a new window
Provides image and full-text online access to back issues of selected scholarly journals in the humanities and social sciences. Coverage varies by journal title, issues from the most recent 3-5 years are not available through JSTOR. Mobile-friendly site.
Social Science Premium This link opens in a new window
Search across a range of indices and full-text social sciences databases, covering subject areas including Politics, Sociology, Education, Linguistics, and Criminal Justice
ProQuest All This link opens in a new window
Single interface to search all of the ProQuest databases (ABI/Inform; AltPressWatch; ArtBibliographiesModern;Dissertations & Theses; EthnicNewsWatch; MLA International; New York Times (Historical); Nursing & Allied Health Source; PAIS; Philosopher's Index; PILOTS; Social Services Abstracts; Sociological Abstracts
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline is the world's largest fully searchable, image-based government document and legal research database. It contains comprehensive coverage from inception of U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents and more than 2,500 scholarly journals.
PAIS Index This link opens in a new window
This database chronicles issues in the public debate through highly selective coverage of a wide variety of sources including journal articles, books, government documents, statistical directories, grey literature, research reports, conference papers, publications of international agencies, microfiche, Internet material and more.
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Unified search of Arts & Humanities, Science, and Social Sciences Citation Indexes. Indexes and abstracts more than 10,000 major scholarly journals. Provides the number of times cited and links to those articles, as well as full bibliographies. Mobile: new interface optimized for mobile users.
Education Source This link opens in a new window
Education Source is the world's largest full-text research database designed for education students, professionals and policymakers. It provides full text, indexing and abstracts for thousands of education journals, books and education-related conference papers.

Interdisciplinary Research

Research Guides

If your research connects to another discipline (history, economics, ethnic studies, education, politics, etc), it may be helpful to explore the research guide for that discipline. Use the dropdown below to browse all of our research guides.

Databases

You may also to explore databases that focus on disciplines related to your research. . Start with the list of databases here and click on the All Subjects dropdown to filter by discipline.