Research Guides: Chemistry: Books and Reference Books

Finding books

WorldCat This link opens in a new window
WorldCat is the world's largest network of library content and services with more than a two billion books, films, and music from more than 10,000 libraries worldwide. Features of the public web version include displaying geographically nearest libraries first (based on zip code).

Selected Chemistry Encyclopedias & Handbooks

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
ISBN: 9781138561632
Publication Date: 2018-06-14
IUPAC Compendium of Chemical Terminology (Gold Book) The Compendium is popularly referred to as the "Gold Book", in recognition of the contribution of the late Victor Gold, who initiated work on the first edition. It is one of the series of IUPAC "Colour Books" on chemical nomenclature, terminology, symbols and units (see the list of source documents), and collects together terminology definitions from IUPAC recommendations already published in Pure and Applied Chemistry and in the other Colour Books.
ISBN: 0967855098
Publication Date: 2014
Comprehensive Organic Transformations by Richard C. Larock (Editor)
ISBN: 9780470927953
Publication Date: 2018
Lange's Handbook of Chemistry, 17th ed. by James Speight
Call Number: Reference: 1st Floor ; 540.2 L260
ISBN: 9781259586095
Publication Date: 2017
March's Advanced Organic Chemistry by Michael B. Smith
Call Number: 547 M331a
ISBN: 9781119371809
Publication Date: 2020
Encyclopedia of Polymer Science and Technology by Herman F. Mark
ISBN: 9780470046104
Publication Date: 2007
Handbook of Solid State Chemistry by Wolfgang Tremel (Editor)
Publication Date: 2017
Strategic Applications of Named Reactions in Organic Synthesis by Laszlo Kurti; Barbara Czakó
Call Number: Reference: 1st Floor; 547.2 K967
ISBN: 9780124297852
Publication Date: 2005
Greene's Protective Groups in Organic Synthesis by Peter G. M. Wuts
Call Number: ebook
ISBN: 9781118905098
Publication Date: 2014

For additional reference titles, look in Library Search by keyword, subject or author and limit to reference entries using the drop-down menu.

Reference Databases

AccessScience This link opens in a new window
Includes McGraw-Hill Encyclopedia of Science & Technology.
ChemNetBase This link opens in a new window
Component databases can also be searched separately: Combined chemical dictionary, Dictionary of commonly cited compounds, Dictionary of inorganic and organometallic compounds, Dictionary of natural products, Dictionary of organic compounds, Handbook of chemistry and physics, Dictionary of drugs, Polymers: a property database, and Properties of organic compounds, Dictionary of food compounds, Dictionary of carbohydrates, Dictionary of marine natural resources.
Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window

Includes: Chemistry: Foundations and Applications; World of Forensic Science; Complete dictionary of scientific biography.

Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Includes: Dictionary of Chemistry; Oxford Dictionary of Biochemistry and Molecular Biology

Organic Syntheses
Provides the chemistry community with detailed, reliable, and carefully checked procedures for the synthesis of organic compounds. Some procedures describe practical methods for the preparation of specific compounds of interest, while other procedures illustrate important synthetic methods with general utility. Each procedure is written in considerably more detail as compared to typical experimental procedures in other journals, and each reaction with its characterization data has been repeated several times and carefully "checked" for reproducibility in the laboratory of a member of the Board of Editors.

Ebook Central This link opens in a new window
Includes: Forensic Chemistry Handbook; Handbook of green analytical chemistry; Handbook of chemistry, biochemistry and biology: new frontiers.

ChemIDplus - Dictionary of more than 370,000 chemicals (names, synonyms, and structures) from National Library of Medicine's specialized information service. Use the Advanced Search feature for chemical structure, property, and toxicity searching.

ChemSpider - Royal Society of Chemistry source for 26 million structures, synonyms, trade names, and formulas, with links to properties, spectra, etc. Links to both authoritative journal content (links to SMC subscribed content will only work on campus for this free resource) and non-authoritative (Wikipedia) content, so confirm results with other sources.

NIST's Webbook - (National Institute of Standards and Technology) Thermochemical, phase transition, gas phase IR and mass spectral data for thousands of compounds.

PubChem and old PubChem - National Institutes of Health. Biological activities of small molecules. Search compounds, patents, targets, more.