Research Guides: Chemistry: Chemical Property Information

Property information on a known or unknown substance

This chemical property information guide has been copied and modified from MIT Library's "Finding Chemical & Materials Properties" guide, created by Howard Silver. It is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution Non-Commercial License.

CRC Handbook of Chemistry and Physics
ISBN: 9781138561632
Publication Date: 2018-06-14
A comprehensive resource of physical constants and properties.
The Combined Chemical Dictionary
The Combined Chemical Dictionary is a chemical database containing over 500,000 substances. It includes descriptive and numerical data on chemical, physical and biological properties of compounds; systematic and common names of compounds; literature references; structure diagrams and their associated connection tables. The website cross-searches all compounds published in: Dictionary of organic compounds, Dictionary of natural products, Dictionary of inorganic and organometallic compounds, Dictionary of drugs, Dictionary of analytical reagents, and Dictionary of carbohydrates.
Polymers: A Property Database
ISBN: 9780849339400
Provides scientific and commercial information on polymers in a single source. Search by polymer, properties, trade name, application, and more. Provides tabulated displays of search results and polymer data as well as monomer data cross-referenced from the relevant polymers

ChemIDplus
ChemIDplus contains more than 400,000 chemical records with more than 300,000 of those records include chemical structures. A database from the Specialized Information Services (SIS) of the National Library of Medicine (NLM). Use the advanced search feature for chemical structure, property, and toxicity searching.
ChemSpider
ChemSpider is a free chemical structure database from the Royal Society of Chemistry (RSC) which includes fast text and structure searching for more than 67 million structures from hundreds of data sources. ChemSpider links to both authoratative journal content and non-authoratitive (Wikipedia) content, so confirm results with other sources.

SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
Search SciFinder by substance (using CAS Registry Number, chemical structure, molecular formula, chemical name, or other chemical property). View experimental and predicted properties, experimental and predicted spectra, regulatory information, bioactivity indicators, target indicators, and references in the literature associated with each, where available in SciFinder. New to SciFinder? Register here: http://smc-library.ask.libraryh3lp.com/questions/31868