Research Guides: Chemistry: Databases

Welcome!

This research guide offers some of the key databases, book catalogs, journals, and more for the broad discipline of Chemistry. To read the latest published research, check out BrowZine for your favorite journals. To get started searching for primary or secondary research, check out the some of databases listed below such as Web of Science, Multisearch, and Google Scholar. If you have any questions, please don't hesitate to contact the librarians.

Article Databases

SciFinder-n This link opens in a new window
Comprehensive database for chemistry research, produced by Chemical Abstracts Service (CAS). Includes journal articles, patents, dissertations, books, and conference proceedings plus chemical properties, structures, reactions and more. You'll create an account to use SciFinder. Find more info in our FAQ: https://stmarys-ca.libanswers.com/faq/268887
Web of Science This link opens in a new window
Web of Science Core Collection (1956 - present) includes Science Citation Index Expanded (1975 - present). Also available in Web of Science: Biological Abstracts, CABI: CAB Abstracts and Global Health, Inspec, KCI-Korean Journal Database, MEDLINE, Russian Science Citation Index, SciELO Citation Index, Zoological Record.
PubMed Medline This link opens in a new window
PubMed comprises more than 28 million citations for biomedical literature from MEDLINE, life science journals, and online books. Citations may include links to full-text content from PubMed Central and publisher web sites.
Library Search This link opens in a new window
Multisearch searches across many of SMC Library's databases and the library catalog.
Google Scholar This link opens in a new window
A search engine for scholarly literature, Google Scholar includes journal articles, books, book chapters, and dissertations from across all disciplines, presented in a ranked order based on citations. Use this link when off-campus to access items from SMC Library's e-journals collection.

Publisher Databases

ACS Journals This link opens in a new window
Peer-reviewed science journals from American Chemical Society
Annual Reviews This link opens in a new window
Annual summaries of research in the biomedical sciences, physical sciences, and social sciences
Nature.com: Nature Journals Online This link opens in a new window
Full-text of articles from the Nature journals, covering a broad array of science topics
ScienceDirect This link opens in a new window
Full-text of scientific, technical, and medical research from Elsevier peer-reviewed journals and ebooks
Springer Nature Link This link opens in a new window
Full-text access to journals and ebooks in the sciences, humanities, and social sciences from Springer publishing
Wiley Online Library This link opens in a new window
Full-text of articles and eBooks from Wiley and affliated journals

Dissertations Database

Dissertations and Theses This link opens in a new window
Full-text online North American and European dissertations issued from 1997-to the present. Citations for dissertations and master's theses ranging from 1861 to the present

Chemistry

Presentation

News

Ask a Librarian

Welcome!

Article Databases

Publisher Databases

Dissertations Database