Research Guides: How to Google Better: Going Beyond Google (Library Databases)

Library Databases

Sometimes (or often, even?), Google just isn't quite enough. There's still 90%+ of the Web out there to explore, and the library is your portal to a portion of it that Google can't reach. Below are a sampling of the over 200 databases the Saint Mary's library provides you access to, with short explanations of the kinds of information they provide.

You don't have to search in each of the 200 SMC Library databases separately to do your research! Library Search searches across lots of our databases all at once, giving you a broad view with books, ebooks, scholarly, news or magazine articles, videos, encyclopedia articles, and much more.

If you're looking for something the SMC Library doesn't have, click "Expand Your Search" from within Library Search to see books, articles, and more that you can request from other libraries.

ABI/INFORM Collection This link opens in a new window
Business news and scholarly journals
CQ Researcher This link opens in a new window
In-depth overviews of topics of public debate written by seasoned journalists
Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
Scholarly encyclopedia articles
Ethnic NewsWatch This link opens in a new window
Newspapers from communities of color, and more
Opposing Viewpoints (Gale in Context) This link opens in a new window
Pros and cons of various political and social issues, including articles, statistics, documents and references to additional resources
Statistical Abstract of the U.S. This link opens in a new window
Social, political, and economic data for the United States

Research Guides by Subject

Saint Mary's librarians have put together collections of resources similar to the one you're reading now, but for a whole range of academic subjects. The drop-down menu below shows the entire menu of Research Guides available to you.