Politics

Library Search: Use the new library search to find books and films (streaming and DVDs), and other databases below for articles. The Library also subscribes to other excellent databases for politics-related searches.  

Here are some recommended databases for world politics.

• Women in politics: Database Women in Politics Bibliographic Database 1948 - present.

Women in Politics is an international database on women in politics, created and maintained by the Inter-Parliamentary Union with contribution from the United Nations Development Program. It contains citations (many annotated) to articles, books, reports, brochures, legal instruments, and other types of material dealing with women's participation in political life. It can be searched by type of document, country, region, organization, author, broad subject, keyword, language, year of publication, or periodical name. There are more than 1,000 citations in the database, with about 120-150 being added each year. 

• GenderWatch

GenderWatch enhances gender and women's studies, and gay, lesbian, bisexual, and transgender (GLBT) research by providing authoritative perspectives from 1970 to present. This well-established and highly reviewed resource offers over 300 titles, with more than 250 in full-text, from an array of academic, radical, community and independent presses. Researchers and teachers may access more than 219,000 full articles on wide-ranging topics like sexuality, religion, societal roles, feminism, masculinity, eating disorders, healthcare, and the workplace.