Research Guides: Politics: Human Rights

Human Rights

Amnesty International - The well known organization looks at issues relating to human rights and social justice on a global scale.

Country Reports on Human Rights Practices - Full text report from the State Department. You can access the most recent report, or go back through the archive beginning in 1999.

Freedom House.org - A non-profit, non partisan group focusing on human rights advocacy and analysis.

CIAO This link opens in a new window
Columbia International Affairs Online (CIAO) focuses on theory and research in international affairs from 1991 to the present.
Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Includes Encyclopedia of Genocide and Crimes against Humanity, Human Rights Encyclopedia, Terrorism: Essential Primary Sources, Government, Politics, and Protest: Essential Primary Sources, and Human and Civil Rights: Essential Primary Sources
HeinOnline This link opens in a new window
HeinOnline is the world's largest fully searchable, image-based government document and legal research database. It contains comprehensive coverage from inception of U.S. statutory materials, U.S. Congressional Documents and more than 2,500 scholarly journals. HeinOnline provides topic specific databases including all of the world's constitutions, all U.S. treaties, collections of classic treatises and presidential documents, Criminal Justice, Religion and the Law, and Women and the Law among others.
Hispanic American Periodicals Index This link opens in a new window
The Hispanic American Periodicals Index (HAPI) is your source for over 275,000 journal article citations about Central America, South America, the Caribbean, Mexico, Brazil, and Hispanics/Latinos in the United States.

Human Rights Documentation Initiative - "a project of the University of Texas Libraries to make the record of human rights violations, especially genocide, available online."

Human Rights Library - From the University of Minnesota, a collection of documents from many large bodies, such as the United Nations, European Commission on Human Rights, etc.

Human Rights Watch - News and information from this organization, plus annual world reports, accessible by country name. Includes this report on the Uyghur people in China, and many others.

Leave None to Tell the Story: Genocide in Rwanda - Report dated April, 2004. From Human Rights Watch.

Office of High Commissioner for Human Rights (OHCHR) - United Nations has a full site on human rights, and can be browsed by country.

Oxford Reference Online This link opens in a new window
Includes Encyclopedia of Human Rights

The Torture Archive - Over 83,000 pages from the National Security Archive at George Washington University. Includes legal documents from the US and foreign courts, information on practices of US military and intelligence sources, the complete Combatant Status Review Tribunal and the ARB files from the Pentagon. Searchable.

United States Institute of Peace- A nonpartisan federal site, organized "to promote the prevention, management, and peaceful resolution of the international conflicts". News updates, special reports, briefings are included.