U.S. Politics

ConSource: The Constitution and Its Amendments - An online library of constitutional history.

FactCheck.org - A nonpartisan nonprofit site set up to increase understanding and lessen confusion in US politics-- by monitoring accuracy of speeches, interviews, debates and press releases.

Federal Digital System - Search for current governmental reports and documents. This is a part of GPO Access, from the Government Printing Office (GPO), the "official Federal Government Information at your fingertips." Full text of many government publications and reports, including Congressional Record, Federal Register, Government Manual, and the United States Code. There is much more, including core documents such as the Declaration of Independence and the Constitution.

FedFlix - Offers "the best movies of the United States Government, from training films to history, from our national parks to the U.S. Fire Academy and the Postal Inspectors, all of these fine flix are available for reuse without any restrictions whatsoever..."

Historic Documents from 2009 to present, but the link defaults to 2009. Search broadly in the Sage Knowledge database (which is where these documents live) for events that you want to find. Older issues from 1980-2008 are available in print at: (Ref 909.82 C760). See also: Historic Documents Index, 1972-1999. (Ref 909.82 C760i) Washington, DC: Congressional Quarterly, 2000.

Metalab (USGPO) - The Government Printing Office offers 53 government databases with an "easy and personalized interface which can search simultaneously for information in a variety of electronic resources, such as catalogs, reference databases, digital repositories or subject-based Web gateways."

USAspending.gov - Data goes back to 2000 and includes grant recipient information, lists of government contractors (by state) and more.

U.S. Government Documents Ready Reference Collection - Arranged by category, this is a great collection of available government documents. Categories include Environment, Health, Energy, and Business and Economics. Some sources are accessible only to Columbia students.

The Homeland Security Digital Library (HSDL) is the nation’s premier collection of documents related to homeland security policy, strategy, and organizational management. The HSDL is part of the Naval Postgraduate School Center for Homeland Defense and Security and is sponsored by the U.S. Department of Homeland Security’s National Preparedness Directorate, FEMA.

International Monitary Fund (IMF)

IMF eLibrary is an electronic research platform that provides comprehensive access to the IMF’s publications and data. More than 21,000 publications are available for online reading, downloading, printing, or sharing archive to 1946.