Communication

Getting started with communication research

Communication studies is a rich and varied discipline. Below are suggestions for getting started in your research in some of the more specific areas of communication. 

 

Relational Communication 

intercultural communication

Interpersonal communication

Family communication

Intercultural, interpersonal, and family communication

Books and articles make up a lot of research in this area. In "Background Information," search Albert, the SMC Library's online catalog, for books on intercultural communication, multiculturalism, and other related topics. In "Journal Articles," try using Multisearch to find articles on specific topics, such as specific cultures or issues. Limit to scholarly texts for original studies or review articles. 

Also search the PsycInfo and Sociologial Abstracts databases, as many issues in interpersonal and family communication are studied by psychologists and sociologists. 

Stay up to date on current research and browse scholarly journals in interpersonal communicationintercultural communication, and ethnic, racial, and gender studies.

Public Communication 

Media law

Media Law

Research tools and sources for study of the laws regulating media and communication, including intellectual property, torts, and telecommunication law and the First Amendment ("Congress shall make no law respecting an establishment of religion, or prohibiting the free exercise thereof; or abridging the freedom of speech, or of the press; or the right of the people peaceably to assemble, and to petition the Government for a redress of grievances.")

Use the suggested databases under Journal Articles to find scholarly articles about legal issues in communication and use the Nexis Uni database to find case law and law reviews.

Stay up to date on current research and browse scholarly journals in communication law

Journalism

Journalism

Journalism happens on many media, from radio to television to traditional newspapers and start-up websites. On this site, use the "Journal Articles" section for recommended databases to find articles about the history, development, and theories of journalism. On the "newspapers" tab of that page, you'll find links to local, national, and international newspapers. 

Stay up to date on current research and browse scholarly journals in journalism

And recommended podcast to subscribe to to stay current on current events and journalism as a field is WNYC's On the Media

Advertising

Advertising and public relations

Books and articles make up a lot of research in this area. In "Background Information," search Albert, the SMC Library's online catalog, for books on intercultural communication, multiculturalism, and other related topics. In "Journal Articles," try using Multisearch to find articles on specific topics. Limit to scholarly texts for original studies or review articles. 

Also search the PsycInfo and Sociological Abstracts databases, as many issues of consumer behavior and related topics are covered by psychologists and sociologists. 

Stay up to date on current research and browse scholarly journals in advertising and public relations.

Media Studies

film, TV, radio

Film, Radio, Television

Books and journal articles on film studies and other popular culture media are available in the usual resources throughout this resource guide. 

To find films, see the Films and Videos section of this page for information on finding educational and feature films available in our collection as streaming or DVDs. 

Media production

Media Production

Our streaming video services include many videos on areas of media production. See the the Films and Videos section. 

The campus subscription to Hoonuit is a great place for tutorials on various software and editing tools. 

Rhetorical criticism

Rhetorical Criticism

Books and articles make up a lot of research in this area. In "Background Information," search Albert, the SMC Library's online catalog, for books on intercultural communication, multiculturalism, and other related topics. In "Journal Articles," try using Multisearch to find articles on specific topics, such as specific cultures or issues. Limit to scholarly texts for original review articles. 

If looking for media objects to apply criticism to, see the Journal and Newspaper Articles section for links to full text magazines and newspapers, and see Films and Videos section for options to view films, TV shows, and more. 

The following communication related titles have been added to the SMC collection since January 2018. (Graphic list may take a few moments to load)

Creative Commons License

This work is licensed under a Creative Commons Attribution-NonCommercial 4.0 International License.