Research Guides: Communication: Background Information

Background Information

Books
Reference

Print and e-books available in the SMC collection can be found using the search box on the Library's homepage.

Background information and reference sources

For definitions, explanations, and historical reviews of communication topics and theories, you have access to many scholarly encyclopedias and handbooks. The first recommended resource to search is

Sage Reference This link opens in a new window
A database of reference encyclopedias and handbooks published by SAGE covering the social sciences and education.

Includes important titles such as

Encyclopedia of Communication Theory
SAGE Encyclopedia of Communication Research Methods
Handbook of Communication Science
and many others

Other recommended reference resources are

Credo Reference This link opens in a new window
A discovery service and research platform, offers searching and the full text of some 3.4 million individual entries from a wide range of subject-based reference works, along with images, videos, and audio files.
Gale Ebooks This link opens in a new window
Provides searchable full-text e-book versions of many reference works, including multi-volume encyclopedias, biographical collections, business plan handbooks, company history compilations, consumer health references, and specialized handbooks, dictionaries, encyclopedias, etc. in a wide range of subject areas. Subject categories include Arts, Biography, Business, Education, Environment, History, Law, Literature, Medicine, Multicultural Studies, Nation and World, Religion, Science, and Social Sciences. Mobile: download AccessMyLibrary College app from your phone's app store; use id Mora54187.